Threefold Repetition | Draw

If a position occurs three times, players can claim a draw by threefold repetition. Lichess implements the official FIDE rules, as described in Article 9.2 (d) of the handbook (PDF).

We did not repeat moves. Why was the game still drawn by repetition? #

Threefold repetition is about repeated positions, not moves. Repetition does not have to occur consecutively.

We repeated a position three times. Why was the game not drawn? #

Repetition needs to be claimed by one of the players. You can do so by pressing the button that is shown, or by offering a draw before your final repeating move. You can also configure Lichess to automatically claim repetitions for you. Additionally, fivefold repetition always immediately ends the game.

Submit a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

you're currently offline - please connect online to use full functionality

Contact us via Whatsapp
Scan the code